C.E. Morgan
Fiction Writer
Berea, KY
2012 USA Fellow

This award was generously supported by the Ford Foundation.

Writer C. E. Morgan’s debut novel, All the Living (2009), won the Weatherford Award as an outstanding work of fiction depicting Appalachia. It was also a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway First Fiction Book Award and the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award. Morgan was selected by the National Book Foundation as one of its “5 under 35” honorees (2009) and was included on The New Yorker’s 2010 “20 under 40” list of best emerging fiction writers.

Portrait photo courtesy Kent Gilbert.

  • Artwork by C.E. Morgan
    All the Living, 2009; cover art Philip Pascuzzo; photo courtesy Picador
Artwork by C.E. Morgan