Margaret Brown
Documentary Filmmaker
Mobile, AL
2012 USA Fellow

This award was generously supported by The Rockefeller Foundation.

Documentary filmmaker Margaret Brown’s first feature, Be Here to Love Me: A Film about Townes Van Zandt (2005), about the troubled country music artist, premiered at the Toronto Film Festival (2004). It was listed by Time Out at number seven among the “50 Greatest Music Films Ever.” Her next feature, The Order of Myths (2008), focuses on the Mardi Gras celebrations—the oldest in the country—in her hometown of Mobile, Alabama, and explores the complicated racial issues of the city and its rituals. The film won many honors, including a Peabody Award (2010), an Independent Spirit Award (2009), and a Silverdocs Cinematic Vision Award (2008).

Portrait photo courtesy Jeffrey Peixoto.

  • Artwork by Margaret Brown
    The Order of Myths, 2008; photo credit Frazer Bradshaw
Artwork by Margaret Brown